The European dance award Prix Jardin d'Europe 2011, endowed with EUR 10,000,-, goes to the performance "A Gesture that is Nothing but a Threat" by Sofia Dias & Vítor Roriz from Portugal.

On Saturday October 15, 2011, the 4th Prix Jardin d'Europe was awarded in the context of eXplore dance festival in Bucharest. The award ceremony took place at Godot Café Teatru, the sculpture of the Prix Jardin d'Europe 2011 was designed by Romanian visual artist Doru Dumitrescu. The award winners Sofia Dias & Vítor Roriz (PT) receive EUR 10,000,- for the realisation of a new production.

Furthermore, the jury granted two artistic residencies at ImPulsTanz respectively at Workspace Brussels / Ultima Vez to public in private / Clément Layes (DE/FR) and Cecilia Lisa Eliceche (BE/AR).

The winners of the Prix Jardin d'Europe were nominated by a jury consisting of 8 young dance journalists from 7 countries, who took part in the mentoring programme Critical Endeavour for emerging dance writers during eXplore dance festival.

The 14 nominees for the Prix Jardin d'Europe 2011 were:

Dragana Alfirevic (RS) - ARE MADE OF THIS
Maria Baroncea (RO), Eduard Gabia (RO) and Dragana Bulut (RS) - EIONOMETRY
Aleksandra Borys (PL) - Lost in details
Sofia Dias & Vitor Roriz (PT) - A gesture that is nothing but a threat
Cecilia Lisa Eliceche (IT/BE) - Cow's Theory
Fanni Futterknecht (AT) - I almost love you
Clement Layes (FR) - Allege
Daniel Linehan (USA/BE) - Zombie Aporia
Anna MacRae (NZ/AT) - Loud Enough
Raul Maia (PT/AT) & Thomas Steyaert (BE) - The Ballet of Sam Hogue and Augustus Benjamin
Anna Mendelssohn (AT) - Cry me a river
Valerie Oberleithner (AT) - Splendid Isolation
Valentina de Piante (IT/RO) - The thing doesn't touch me
An Verstraete (BE) - The angry girl

The jury announced that the work "A Gesture that is Nothing but a Threat" of Dias and Roriz was awarded for "their thorough re-thinking and detailed investigation of the word, voice and sound in relation to embodiment. The piece achieved a personal identity by engaging in the ongoing questioning of the choreography through creative and physical labour; while at the same time opening up a poetic space of thoughts, feelings and, as the two performers enacted, a very intimate discovery.

Furthermore, the jury suggests two residencies, which will be given by the partners of Prix Jardin d'Europe.

For its intense physical investigation of construction dynamics and social relationships: Cecilia Lisa Eliceche - "Cow's Theory".

For its individual and skillful approach to choreography, a meditation on the nature of the arts, the expectations of the audience and the world itself: Clément Layes - "Allege."

The European dance award for young choreographers has been created in 2008 by the dance network Jardin d'Europe, initiated and realized by the 10 European dance institutions 4Culture (Romania), Bimeras Culture Foundation (Turkey), Centre Chorégraphique National de Montpellier (France), Cullberg Ballet (Sweden), danceWEB (Austria), Lokomotiva (Macedonia), Southbank Centre (UK), Station - Service for Contemporary Dance (Serbia), Ultima Vez (Belgium) and Workshop Foundation (Hungary). Jardin d'Europe is supported for the duration of five years (until 2013) by the Culture Programme of the European Union.

Next year, the Prix Jardin d'Europe will take place in the frame of ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival 2012.

Observator Cultural published an own supliment about the Prix Jardin d'Europe & Critical Endeveavour 2011

- download the subliment by clicking on the left thumb

© Lucian Renitsa